June 10, 2020

When You Are Charged With Domestic Violence

When You Are Charged With Domestic Violence


Home Blog Bail Bonds What to Expect When Facing Domestic Violence Charges

June 10, 2020  |  Posted by Balboa Bail Bonds Team  |  Bail Bonds

Being charged with domestic violence is a serious matter. The Californian courts look down on violent crimes, especially if carried out against spouses, children, or the elderly. While being charged with such a crime will certainly leave your life in shambles, simply being arrested and then held in jail while you wait for your trial can upend the life you worked very hard for. Your friends may distrust you, you may lose your job, and suffer a serious blow to your reputation. But that is why you should never allow yourself to be trapped in jail when you could be focused on your trial.

Penalties for Domestic Violence

In California, domestic violence is considered a “wobbler”, as courts may classify it as a misdemeanor or a felony. Whether or not you are charged with a felony offense depends on several factors including:

  • If a weapon was used
  • If you crossed state lines
  • How badly the victim(s) was hurt
  • Your criminal history

If the courts find that your alleged crime does not qualify as a felony, and thus charge you with a misdemeanor, then you may face:

  • A $2,000 fine;
  • One year in a county jail; and/or
  • Counseling and probation

A felony charge, naturally, comes with harsher punishments, due to the fact that these charges mean the alleged crime was far worse than what would qualify as a misdemeanor. After being convicted as a felon, you can expect:

  • An up to $10,000 fine; and/or
  • At least four years in a California state prison, though the sentence may be much longer

A felony charge cannot only lengthen how long you are incarcerated for, but it can also impact your life once you are finally free. Becoming a felon in California will bar you from certain everyday rights, such as:

  • Voting
  • Traveling abroad
  • Use of public assistance programs
  • Employment in particular fields, including a government agency
  • Being allowed to own a gun
  • Parental rights

Domestic Violence and Bail

Roughly 24-48 hours after your arrest, you will be given a video meeting with a judge who will review the details of your case and then decide how high to set your bail. It is impossible to say what price your bail will be set at, as that decision is solely up to the judge, but violent charges in California, especially domestic violence, usually result in a much higher bail.

Paying the amount set for you can be difficult, if not impossible. Many Californians live paycheck to paycheck and cannot possibly afford a sudden, high expense like bail. That is why you should contact a reliable bond agency who can help pay for your bail and get you home mere days after your arrest.

Whether you are guilty of your charges or not, no one should be held in jail when they have not been properly convicted of a crime. If you have been arrested for domestic violence and need help paying for your bail, call Balboa Bail Bonds at (619) 760-2222. We believe no one should be punished until they receive a fair and proper trial.



Click Here To Read Original Story